What is Formula 1?

Posted on

The Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA), which was founded on June 20, 1904, is the organization that oversees Formula One. At Silverstone in the United Kingdom on May 13, 1950, the World Drivers’ Championship served as the official launch date for Formula One.

Across an entire season, various Grand Prix tournaments take place all over the world. A complete collection of all these races is called Formula One Season. The term “Formula” describes a set of guidelines that all competing teams must follow. The English equivalent of the French Word Grand Prix is a big prize. The FIA grades the tracks used for the races as “1.” As a result, the moniker Formula One was chosen.

Although Formula 1 started back in 1948 but the inaugural world championship held in 1950, Italian driver Guiseppe Farina won the first World Championship for Drivers, who narrowly defeated Argentine teammate Juan Manuel Fangio in an Alfa Romeo. Fangio successfully fought back to take the 1951 championship. The Argentinean then won in 1954, 1955, 1956, and 1957, establishing an early record for four straight titles that remained for 45 years.

Road car manufacturers like Mercedes-Benz, Alfa Romeo, Ferrari, and Maserati raced their vehicles in the early years of the automobile. The front-engined automobiles either had 4.5-liter normally aspirated engines or 1.5-liter supercharged engines. These were the same producers that had faced off before World War One

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.*